## PCA HOLDS ANNUAL AWARD FUNCTION

Punjab Cricket Association held its annual award function at I.S. Bindra Stadium PCA Mohali in Dhruv Pandove Conference Hall vesterday. According to Mr. Sushil Kapoor spokesperson PCA the awards were given to best Junior and Senior players of the year, best district award, best coach award and honouring of two former first class players. The best senior cricketer of the year award was given to Mr. Barinder Saran who represented India in ODI and T-20 matches against Australia and Zimbabwe. The award carried a cash prize of Rs. 1.00 lac which was handed over by Mr. M.P. Pandove, Honorary Secretary General PCA. The award in the Junior category carrying a cash prize of Rs. 50,000/- was given to Anmolpreet Singh who represented India in U-19 World Cup 2016 by Mr. G.S. Walia, Honorary Secretary PCA. A special cash award of Rs.50.000/- was given to Mr. Abhishek Sharma by Mr. Viswajeet Khanna, Honorary Treasurer PCA for the outstanding performance in Vijay Merchant Trophy (U-16, scoring 1200 runs at an average of 109.9 and a haul of 57 wickets for 602 runs with best bowling of 9 for 7). The D.P. Azad Trophy for the best coach of the year and a cash prize of Rs.50,000/- was given to Mr. Sanjay Mahajan Coach of U-16 team which won the Vijay Merchant Trophy.

PCA also pooled Rs. 4.00 lacs to the 4.00 lac prize money received from BCCI for Under-16 winners of Vijay Merchant Trophy and the members of the team were honoured by handing over individual cheques by Mr. I.S. Bindra Chairman PCA.

The best District Award of Rs. 6.00 lacs went to Patiala District which secured 12 points while 2<sup>nd</sup> best district award of Rs. 3.00 lacs went to Chandigarh District which secured 06 points.

In the end Mr. M.P. Pandove, Hony. Secretary General honoured two first class former players with whom he had played during his playing days. The first was Mr. Jawahar Bhargav who played in the earlier 60s for southern Punjab. He was given a cash prize of Rs.51,000/- a silver salver and a shawl. The next to be honoured with a cash prize of Rs.51,000/- a silver salver and a shawl who captained Punjab in 1976 and played for Northern Punjab and Punjab.