RELIANCE PIP DDCA BY 5 WICKETS IN 22ND ALL INDIA J.P. ATRAY MEMORIAL CRICKET TOURNAMENT

In the opening match played between Reliance(I) and DDCA at Sector 16 Cricket Stadium Chandigarh, Reliance (I) came out all guns blazing to tame spirited DDCA by 5 wickets. Winning the toss and opting to field, Reliance (I) opened the bowling with International star Jaspreet Bumrah and Rush Kalaria and the duo kept a nagging length and did not allow any liberties to the batsmen. Rush Kalaria struck the first blow when he had opener Rahul caught by wicket keeper Rishab Panth before the batsman could open his account and the team's total reading 5 for 01. Thereafter Jaideep Chauhan (29) off 34 balls with 4 boundaries and one six and Himmant Singh (16) with 3 boundaries added 40 runs for the 2nd wicket. The stand was broken when Himmant Singh was run out by Yogesh Nagar, Yujuvender Chahal combine. DDCA kept on losing wickets at regular intervals and at one stage were looking down the barrel with 7 wickets down for 93 runs in 28.1 overs. Then Manan Sharma and Shivam Sharma put on 44 runs for the 8th wicket which fell at the total of 137 in 40.2 overs. Bumrah coming back for a second spell polished of the tail to return impressive figures of 10-2-29-2. Shivam Sharma was the highest run getter for DDCA scoring 58 off 65 balls inclusive of 5 boundaries and two sixes. Yujuvender Chahal also bowled a decent spell to capture two wickets for 44 runs. DDCA were bowled out for 179 in 49.2 overs. Right arm medium pacer Deepak Punia also chipped in with a haul of 2 for 26.

Replying Reliance (I) received a severe jolt as their captain and opener Unmukt Chand had his stump shattered by right arm medium pacer Vikas Tokas before opening his account. Then Rishab Panth and Amitoze Singh added 47 runs for the 2nd wicket before Rishab Panth was stumped by Rahul off Shivam Sharma for 29 off 18 balls inclusive of 3 boundaries and two sixes. Shivam struck again as he had Amitoze Singh caught plumb in front for 27 off 32 balls inclusive of 4 boundaries. Akshdeep Nath who came in next took charge of the situation and in company of Deepak Punia put on 83 runs for the unfinished 6th wicket to record a five wickets win for his team. Akshdeep Nath for his brilliant unbeaten knock of 71 off 102 balls inclusive of 6 boundaries and three sixes was named man of the match. Deepak Punia remained unbeaten on 30 off 24 balls inclusive of one boundary and two sixes. Shivam Sharma and Manan Sharma took two wickets each. Reliance (I) got 4 points for this win while DDCA got zero.

In the second match played at GMSSS Sector 26 Indian Oil defeated Minerva Cricket Academy by 27 runs and garner 4 points while Minerva Cricket Academy got zero. Batting first Indian Oil Corporation scored 251 for 9 in 50 overs after losing their first two wickets at a measly score of 2 for 3 in 2.2 overs. Thereafter Deepak Hooda and Ravi Kant Shukla put on 95 runs for the 3rd wicket before Deepak Hooda was caught by Uday Kaul off Himanshu Satyawan for 55 off 72 balls inclusive of 7 boundaries and one six. Thereafter Ravikant Shukla was run out by Himanshu Satyawan for 43 off 79 balls. Arif Alam 62 off 67 balls with 6 boundaries and one six and Pinal Shah 43 off 36 balls with 4 boundaries and one six were the other main contributors with the bat. For Minerva Cricket Academy Gaurav Kumar 5 for 57 was the most successful bowler.

Replying Minerva Cricket Academy were bowled out for 224 in 47.4 overs. Nitin Saini 43 off 74 balls Naman Sharma 35 off 40 balls and shiva Yadav 30 off 19 balls were the main contributors with the bat. For Indian Oil Corporation Rohan Raje 3 for 44 and Murtaza Hussain 2 for 48 were the main wicket takers.

In the 3rd match played at Tau Devi Lal Cricket Stadium, Panchkula, AirIndia Delhi were shocked by GDS XI when they humbled them by 6 wickets. Batting first Air India Delhi were bowled out for 211 in 46.2 overs. At one stage they were 8 for 3 in 1.5 overs having lost Manwinder Bisla (01) Aditya Kaushik (5) and Hiten Dalal (0). Then Deepak Joon and Rajesh Sharma put on 69 runs for the 4th wicket before Rajesh Sharma was bowled by Gaurav Gambhir for 34 off 44 balls with 5 boundaries. Deepak Joon then in company of Lalit Yadav added 89 runs for the 6th wicket before Deepak Joon was stumped by Abhishek Gupta off Gaurav Gambhir for 86 off 114 balls inclusive of 10 boundaries. Anil Kumar then had Lalit Yadav stumped by Abhishek Gupta for 45 off 51 balls with four boundaries. for GDS XI Sunny 2 for 33 Gaurav Gambhir 3 for 41 and Anil Kumar 3 for 32 shared the spoils.

Replying GDS XI lost their opener Ajay Doon on the second ball of the first over without troubling the scorer. Then Abhishek Gupta and Michel Vishal added 91 runs for the 2nd wicket before Michel Vishal was trapped in from by K.Dagar for 43 off 54 balls with 4 boundaries and two sixes. Then Abhishek Gupta with Simrat Bawa added 59 runs for the 3rd wicket. Abhishek Gupta and Gaurav Puri unbeaten 25 added 61 runs for the 4th wicket before Abhishek Gupta was stumped by Bisla off Sukhjinder for 98 off 110 balls with 11boundaries and one six. For Air India Suraj Rai 2 for 37 was the most successful bowler. GDS XI got 4 points for this win while Air India got zero. Abhishek Gupta was declared man of the match.

Tomorrows fixtures:

16.9.2016	HPCA vs ONGC	Sector 16 Std. Chd
16.9.2016	CAG vs Vidarbha C.A.	Tau Devi Lal Std.Sec.3 Pkl
16.9.2016	PCA Colts vs Assam C.A.	GMSSS Sector-26 Chd.