PRESS NOTE

"Punjab Won the Vijay Merchant Trophy 2022-23"

Punjab defeated Madhya Pradesh by 10 wickets in the final of the Vijay Merchant Trophy (Men's under 16 years) at SRN College Ground in Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu.

Punjab was crowned the Champions of the Vijay Merchant Trophy 2022-23 after five years. The BCCI Inter State tournament of Vijay Merchant Trophy (Men's under 16 years) league matches for Group E held at Hyderabad from 1st to 23rd December 2022.

Punjab played its league matches against Andhra Pradesh, Baroda, Rajasthan, Nagaland and Pondicherry. The Pre-Quarter finals were played against Haryana at Chennai where Punjab lads scored 705/6 with the help of Aryan Yadav scoring 303 and Vihaan 135 & 41. Anmoljeet like in league matches was again the wrecker by claiming 7/67 runs. The Quarter final against Maharashtra was decisively won by Punjab out-rightly, Anmoljeet claiming 8 wickets. The Semi Finals against Mumbai was again out right win where Vihaan scored 230 runs and Anmoljeet claiming 9 wickets.

The Final against Madhya Pradesh was again out rightly won by Punjab, in three days.

Punjab's top performers are Vihaan scoring 978 runs, Aryan Yadav scoring 811 runs and Anmoljeet (off-break spin) claiming 65 wickets in record hall of wickets in India in a season, helping Punjab clinching the Vijay Merchant Trophy 2022-23 title.

PCA office bearers Mr. Dilsher Khanna – Hony. Secretary, Mr. Surjit Rai – Hony. Jt. Secretary and Mr. Deepak Sharma – CEO joined the players during the final match at Coimbatore and facilitated the players and support staff on their outstanding performance. The PCA hosted a dinner for the players, coaches and support staff at the hotel after the match.

Mr. Dilsher Khanna, Hony. Secretary, PCA announced award of Rs. 1.00 Lakh for each player who has played 5 or more matches during their way to Championship. Remaining players who played less than 5 matches will be awarded Rs. 50,000/- each.

The Hony. Secretary further informed that Mr. Ravneet Singh Ricky will be awarded with performance bonus of Rs. 5.00 lakhs and the Support Staff consisting of Mr. R.P. Singh, Bowling Coach award of Rs.2.00 lakhs, Mr. Ram Babu Shaw award of Rs.1.00 lakh and Mr. Lavish Chaudhary, Trainer (S&C) award of Rs.1.50 lakhs.

The Hony. Secretary further informed that the winner's team will be felicitated in the General Body Meeting. Punjab won the championship in 2017-18, Runners-up in 2019-20, and now again the winners in 2022-23. The CEO remarked that because of the it is the tremendous effort of players, support staff, selectors, and the PCA team, the Punjab started new year with the National Championship.