## AMRITSAR DEFEAT CHANDIGARH BY FIVE WICKETS

Amritsar continued their winning streak in the Punjab Inter State One Day Tournament for F.C. Mittal Trophy. Having topped their pool with all win record they defeated the other pool topper Chandigarh by 5 wickets in the finals played at I.S. Bindra Stadium PCA Mohali. Amritsar winning the toss and deciding to field struck two quick blows as their medium pacer Varun removed opener skipper Manan Vohra with 2 runs on the board when Manan Vohra was caught by wicket keeper Mohit Handa for zero. Arjit Pannu was trapped in front by Varun for 4 reducing Chandigarh to two down for 07. Then Shivam Bhambri 18 and Talwinder Singh 18 added 36 runs for the 3<sup>rd</sup> wicket. Chandigarh lost half their side for 80 in 24.2 overs. Then a 75 runs stand between Bagminder (42) off 64 balls with 4 boundaries and Gaurav Gambhir unbeaten (48) off 53 balls with 4 boundaries added 75 runs for the 7<sup>th</sup> wicket. Chandigarh innings ended at 200 for 7 in 50 overs. For Amritsar Varun 3 for 25 Navneet Singh 2 for 37 Abhinav Sharma 2 for 37 were the most successful bowlers. Replying Amritsar reached the target of 205 for 5 in 47.3 overs to keep their all win record intact. Amritsar innings were sustained by a 70 runs partnership between Arush Sabharwal (34) and Sharad Lumba (34). At this stage Amritsar were 113 for 4 in 29.2 overs. At this stage Navneet joined Sharad Lumba and the duo stitched an 86 runs partnership for their 5<sup>th</sup> wicket before Navneet was caught by Manan Vohra off Gaurav Gambhir for 44 off 57 balls inclusive of one boundary and 2 sixes. Sharad Lumba took the team past the post as he hit a towering six to deep mid wicket and remain unbeaten on 90 off 115 balls with 5 boundaries and 3 sixes. For Chandigarh Siddharth Kaul, Sarul Kanwar, Gaurav Gambhir scalped one wicket each.

According to Mr. Sushil Kapoor spokesperson PCA the senior selection committee met to select the two teams for the upcoming All India J.P. Atray cricket tournament starting from 15<sup>th</sup> September,2016. Punjab is fielding two team in the name of PCC and PCA Colts.

## PCC TEAM:

Mohit Handa W.K.
Arush Sabharwal
Manan Vohra
Arpit Singh
Siddharth Kaul
Jaskaran Buttar
Jiwanjot Singh
Sandeep Sharma
Rajwinder Singh
Pargat Singh
Mandeep Singh
Raghu Shivam Sharma
Gurkeerat Singh Mann (Captain)
Mayank Sidana
Manpreet Singh Goni

## Manender Singh

## **PCA Colts Team:**

Shivluv Sabharwal

Navneet Singh Virk

Vinay Chaudhary

Varun Kumar

Kamal Passi

Sharad Lumba

Sanvir Singh

Anmol Malhotra (WK)

Sukhwinder Singh

Karan Kaila (Captain)

Prabhjot Singh

Shivam Bhambri

Nikhil Chaudhary

Baltej Singh

Taruwar Kohli

Subek Gill